home DIY decor

Simple Fireplace Makeover + Easy Fall Decor Ideas

Fall is in the Air ♡ Check out my simple fireplace makeover & FALL Decor Crafts for the home & classroom! Plus, a link for FREE printable banner letters!!

IMG_20150909_081453

A couple of years ago, my husband built me abeautiful mantel above our fireplace. We had a mantel before, but this one was very small & I could hardly fit any décor on it. Now, I have this beautiful handcrafted mantel that I absolutely love. However, the tile that went around the fireplace seemed to be even more out of place & had been something that we wanted to replace for a LONG time now. It was grey and did not go with any of the color schemes that are in our family room. We just “NEVER got around to it!”

FINALLY, after 2 years…I did something about it! This was seriously the easiest house project yet!! All you need it a little paint & WA-LA…a NEW FIREPLACE. Take a look at the before & after pictures. Also, scroll through to get ideas for SIMPLE fall décor & if you love my little “FALL” banner, follow the link provided at the end, to get your own printable letters.

BEFORE

 DSC_0114

DSC_0115

Lets DO this! {See…SO EASY}

DSC_0117

AFTER

DSC_0120

DSC_0121

DSC_0122

Add a some firewood & it’s ready to go! We actually had a fire in it the following evening!!

DSC_0129

DSC_0130

DSC_0131

I spray painted the birdcage white to go with the new white tile. I add a mini fall wreath to it for the season.

DSC_0005

DSC_0133

OK, Crafting TIME!!!

4 SUPER Simple FALL Banners:

#1. FALL Heart Banner: I used cupcake dollies, craft paper & free printable letters from DIY Swank (Link is at the bottom of this post). Cut out hearts, glue them to the dollies. Print up letters, cut them up. Sew it all together leaving a few inches of thread on each of the ends to be able to hang it up. Simple & FUN! If you do not have a sewing machine, just tape it all to string 🙂

DSC_0119

DSC_0126

#2. Card Stock Banner: I used cardstock colors that I had on hand that had a “fall feel.” I free cut the banner pieces, put them in the order I wanted & sewed it all together. I hung it on my new pallet kitchen stand in our dining area.

DSC_0106 DSC_0107 DSC_0108

Yay!

DSC_0049 DSC_0051 DSC_0050 DSC_0052

Add a couple of pinecones & brown fall items to complete the look! Check out my DIY Pallet Kitchen Stand to learn how to make your own! It cost us $0 out of pocket!

DSC_0053

#3. Kids FALL Craft Banner: Free cut pumpkins (or use a template) of different fall colors as well as the word FALL (or family, Autumn, or whatever you’d like). Have your kiddos color them & sew them together!

DSC_0001 DSC_0004

DSC_0003

#4. Fall Leaves Banner for the Classroom: Find fall leaf print-ups (a friend gave us these sheets from thisreadingmama.com & I can’t find them on her site anymore. Google some leaf printables or draw them). Have your kiddos color them, cut them out & sew them together or tape them on string like I did! Hang them in the classroom for a FUN Fall feel.

DSC_0026 DSC_0040

{I’m workin’ hard}

 DSC_0030 DSC_0041

Ta-Da!!

DSC_0043 DSC_0044 DSC_0045

EASY Fall Wreath for $10

I bought the wreath, fall theme garland & the wooden “Welcome” sign from Michael’s (I painted the sign white with craft paint). Just wrap the garland around the wreath, tuck your “Welcome” sign in & you’re set! Easy-Peasy & it cost around $10 to create (use your Michael’s 40% off coupon for the most expensive item).

DSC_0046

DSC_0048 DSC_0047

I hope you’re feeling in the FALL Spirit from these simple fall crafts & my easy fireplace makeover! Check out DIY Swank for FREE Letter Printables! Check out my DIY Kitchen Pallet Stand for your next home décor piece! & See our classroom up close & personal at Manning Academy’s Page for MORE fun preschool crafts & activities.

One thought on “Simple Fireplace Makeover + Easy Fall Decor Ideas

Leave a Reply

